Rock Mill is first mentioned in 1086 in the Doomsday Book as a small dwelling.
The restored building to the left of the courtyard was used as a working bakery in the 1400's and it is thought to be built around the same time as the oldest part of the main house.
Re-built several times over the centuries, there is evidence by the existing "A" frames that the main works were completed in the sixteen and seventeen hundreds.
During the late 1800's, due to its position in the lee of Membury Valley, it was converted into an operational flour mill and still has some of the original workings of the mill in the lower library; the water wheel is a replica of the original wheel which was replaced in the 1980's.
Rock Mill was converted into a trout farm in 1969 after a period from the 1920/30's when its running waters grew watercress. Ceasing as a trout farm in 2009 it has undergone extensive internal and external renovations to create what is today, a unique and bespoke rural retreat.